KitchTen Minute: Buttered Bean Sprouts, Corn and Carrots

I am passionate about food. I love trying new dishes, and I am brave enough to try foreign cuisine. Oftentimes, I am the spectator while magic is being performed in the kitchen either by my mother, or my father or John. I love cooking too, although my creations are far greater than my brother John who is considered the family chef. John is the most creative person I always look up to when it comes to cooking. I just hope that he will continue his great passion for food and enroll himself in a culinary school. He can create new meal from leftovers and he was the one who taught me to be patient when cooking. He emphasized that, in cooking, I should be patient, and to be very attentive to fine details. He taught me to taste the difference between spices, smell between various aromas, and feel the texture in leaves or flesh of the meat.

But to be honest, given the nature of my job as a flight attendant, I do not have the time, nor energy to make meals that require a lot of time. At the end of my flight, I feel as sluggish as the octopus being hauled out of the sea. I feel extremely tired, sleepy and hungry, specially on those days where I do killing pairing flights. At the end of the day, all I ever want is to clean my face and crawl to the cold, welcoming arms of my bed -tired and hungry. I also do not like the meals on board since they meals are highly saturated with fat and they do not taste good. (Promise.) I also do not have the time to make sandwiches and bring them with me on board. Call me lazy, but seriously, I am based in a place where going to the grocery store is not as appealing as you think which includes trying to find someone to accompany you because its not safe to go out alone and leave your house wearing a certain garment which covers your entire body. I will rant about it someday. 🙂

So, when I had the chance to complain to my brother how I wanted to make healthy meals without taking me a long time, we came up with some recipes and ideas how to make my tummy happy.

Here is the first recipe of my KitchTen Minute episode.

Please know that these are simple meals intended to help those who are in a rush, or does not have time to cook. I am no MasterChef but I try to make foods that are healthy and filling in a short time frame. ❤

Buttered Bean Sprouts, Corn and Carrots

photo (1)

Ingredients:

1.1/4 cup fresh bean sprouts, washed and dried.

2. 1/2 cup sliced carrot sticks.

3. 1/2 cup whole sweet corn kernels, drained.

4. 1 small sized onions, diced.

5. 2 tablespoon butter

6. Salt and Pepper to taste.

Procedure:

In a medium sized skillet, place butter to slightly melt. Saute onions until it caramelizes, and add carrots. Stir for a minute and add corn kernels. Add bean sprouts and season with salt and pepper while continuously stirring for another minute and remove from fire making sure that the bean sprouts is still crunchy. You may serve with leftover rice, or bread.

Time needed for preparation and cooking takes less than 10 minutes. Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

