KitchTen Minute: Chicken Honey Adobo (Classic Filipino Adobo with a Twist)

image Okay, so my housemates L and D came from their annual training and decided to make chicken adobo for dinner and I just woke up from a flight, tired and feeling lazy, my mouth watered at the thought of the famous Filipino staple. However, being not a part of their house budget, and my picky eating habits, I usually make my own food. For those who are foreign to this kind of food, adobo is a Filipino dish of chicken or pork stewed in vinegar, garlic, soy sauce, bay leaves, and peppercorns. While pork is a no-no in the Middle East, chicken adobo is what we always make. So, with the delicious smell of garlic, onions and ginger enveloping our whole living room, I decided to make mine in less than ten minutes. (I know, lazybelle mode.)

Here’s how I made my ten minute adobo with a twist brought about by my impulse to create drama in my food making. ❤

I have learned not to waste food, so I did not open a new pack of chicken and I used the last 3 pieces of chicken breasts instead.

You will need:

  1. Chicken parts, preferably breasts and thighs but you can use any parts you like.
  2. Soy sauce
  3. Lemon, or you can use the local Philippine lemon
  4. Chili powders
  5. Honey
  6. Oil
  7. Onions
  8. Garlic
  9. Sugar and pepper powder

What I did:

I placed 3 pieces of chicken in the pot and I added six spoonfuls of soy sauce, squeezed half of sliced lemon, chopped onions and garlic, chili powder, pepper and a pinch of sugar. I added 50 ml of water and I let it bring into a boil through medium fire. I kept checking the chicken if it is already tender and cooked while I constantly made sure that it will not go dry because I am avoiding it to become sticky and bitter. Once I found the sauce semi dry, I put a little oil to fry the chicken in a bit, and poured three spoonfuls of honey and stirred them well making sure that the chicken is well coated with honey and let it stay in the fire for a while to allow the honey to seep through the meat for two minutes. And I ate it like I haven’t eaten in two days. Haha. PS: To be honest, I think it took me 15 to 20 minutes but hey, it was done and it turned out deliciously edible. So go ahead, create your own. Enjoy loves! ❤

Leave a Reply

