JumpSeat Stories: My Dubai Experience

image

I recently travelled to the United Arab Emirates on days off a week ago and I can say that the experience was beautiful. I wished that I was able to do it over and over. I meant, I should have done travels on days off within the vicinity of Saudi Arabia. I could have gone to few places when Jeddah is driving me insane.

To be honest, I was at the point of losing my head, my schedule was not busy, and my standby days were not that heavy. I felt like I am getting crazy over the drama in my work place, the negativity of people around me and I didn’t like waking up to constant depressing mornings. I have always believed that when you wake up in the morning, you should always look forward to the day and you should always feel good so that it will emanate all throughout the day. With what was going through around me, I decided to just pack and leave. Well not literally. I actually had pending job interviews so it was like hitting two birds with one stone – mini vacation plus job interviews. So I requested for days off dates, booked my tickets and visa and hopped on to my escape.

I left Jeddah with no sleep at all since I operated on a flight and when I arrived, I only had four hours left and I have not packed yet; and I slept in the aircraft with a creepy guy in the opposite aisle staring intently at me. I really don’t know what his problem is. Maybe I looked funny as my head was lolling like a retarded seal when I slept. Or maybe I opened my mouth and I looked freakish. But I am too sleepy to care anymore so I continued my mini sleep to la-la land.

image

image

When I arrived in Dubai, I was met by my best friend D who was my personal guide all throughout my UAE experience. We travelled to Abu Dhabi where I marveled at the two hour bus journey with high speed wifi connection. I did not feel sleepy, I enjoyed the city lights. We arrived at the bus station to bring us to the hotel where I was booked and we were starving so we decided to eat at the nearest mall called Al Wahda. We were petite yet we had huge appetites. Over dinner, we exchanged some stories about jobs, families and basically everything that has happened over the six months that we have not seen each other. After our sugar rush, we felt groggy and we felt the need to hit the bed so we took a taxi all the way to the hotel.

image

image

Upon arriving at the hotel, in Premier Inn, I have failed to book an extra day so I paid it in cash, only to be given a cabin crew discount for Etihad as they thought I am an Etihad cabin crew. *BLUSH*

image

image

image

When we arrived in the room, D couldn’t help but gush over the hotel’s interior design. She looked cute taking pictures and jumping straight to the bed. Well, the hotel is very nice, not bad for an airport hotel. It was very posh, and elegant. I have met Moon, a hotel receptionist from Myanmar. She is so sweet and accommodating, even telling me that she also mistook me for a cabin crew for Etihad. *ANOTHER BLUSH*

image

image

We went to a mall the next day so I can have my nails done. Afterwards, D has to go back to Dubai for her duty. I was left alone to figure out the entire place myself. Luckily, I was able to return to the hotel on time for my preparation of documents and make up sessions.

image

The next day was the actual interview day. Arrived at the place too early, with so many candidates and other trainees. And again, I was mistaken for a cabin crew in training. *BLUSH* I will not tell you about the entire process because the purpose of this blog is to share to you about the fun that I had.

image

image

I went back to Dubai after my interview. I met D and some other friends. I told D that I was craving for pork and some local dish we have back home and she was gracious enough to make food for me. She actually made me walk under the blistering and scorching sun to get to her apartment. I wasn’t complaining that much. I can deal with the heat of the sun, but I hate the sweat that trickles my face and body. Haha! Sweat in the sun equates to formation of acne for me. And I hate that. Anyway, we reached her apartment and she made this delicious food for me.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Later on, we head to her workplace and I was introduced to Z, another beautiful soul I met. Actually it was an overdue meeting. I have known Z during D’s stint in the UK. We also met L, my long time friend and high school classmate whom I have not met for 12 years, in Dubai Mall later on when D finished her shift. We had dinner in Katsuya, a Japanese restaurant over sushi and the beautiful water dancing just outside our balcony view.

image

Later on, Z had to leave to meet her other friend and the gang decided to chill in Starbucks and decided to watch a movie. Spiderman was overdue to watch and so we chose it and later on, the girls went with me to my hotel to pack and head back to the airport for Jeddah where I operated a flight later on with no sleep – at all.

Over all, I can say that I had so much fun. So much that I don’t ever want to go back to the sandpit. It was like whenever I crave for something, it is so easy to hail a taxicab and head to the mall, chill in the coffee shop and just have fun anywhere without the need to wear abaya (a black, flowy garment worn by women to conceal their body and skin), or be apprehensive about going out alone because the men here are somewhat ignorant of women.

To date, I miss the place. I miss being in Dubai. I miss being in an open country. And most of all, I long to be free. Well, on a happy note, I got hired by two major airline companies. Indeed I am blessed. ❤ So, see you soon Dubai. I am definitely coming back for good. ❤ Happiness!!!

Leave a Reply

